Week 41 Log

Log of work for this week:

  • Finished the lineart and flats for Hope
  • Promoted the next student movie night by designing posters and placing them around college
  • Participated in my last Student Engagement and Experience Committee meeting

At the beginning of the week, I drew and put together the poster for the last Pre-Degree student movie night of the year. The first two movie nights were themed around Studio Ghibli, but the final one was based around the Marvel movies (Avengers: Endgame had come out a week or so beforehand, so it seemed like an ideal fit). I sketched and lined the illustration, title, and text by hand, and practised Flatting by just using the Lasso tool to place flat colours and cel-shading.

marvelnight2
The final version of the poster. I made a clipping mask over the title to give it a coloured gradient look instead of plain black

I spent most of my week working on Hope for Pandora’s action/prop sheet. I got the lineart finished, as well as the temporary and corrected flat colours, and I’m pretty happy with how it looks. I paid as close attention as possible to certain details, such as the serrated/textured area of the top part of the gun.

gunline
Finished lineart
gunplacementflats
Temporary flat colours
guncorrectedflats
Completed flat colours

I’ve based Hope on the design of the Colt 1908 Pocket Hammerless pistol, as that was a popular small hand gun of the era. This is the first time I have taken an in-depth look at a mechanical weapon like this, and though it has been difficult and frustrating at times, I am definitely interested in looking at other gun designs from different periods of time, especially early models and customised/conceptual guns.

I would however like to spend more time first learning about and drawing melee weapons. I have been doing this in my personal everyday sketchbook and have used these sketches to produce some new mini zines which I put on sale at the Tiny Mart art fair, which did gather quite a bit of interest, especially from other illustrators. A couple even suggested I collect these sketches and future ones into a larger reference and put that on sale. Below are two pages from my sketchbook on swords and knives, and an image of the front covers of all of my new “mini visual guide” zines.

 

58411149_457423508332860_2816961734982008060_n.jpg
My new set of “mini visual guide” zines

 

Leave a comment